Collie men's golf results

Stoney Creek 2 Ball Classic        

CAPEL duo, Allan Illman and Rob Burden won last Saturday's Stoney creek 2 Ball stableford Classic, sponsored by the Muja lads. As is often the case, the last card to come in at the end of the day was the eventual winners with a total of 67 stableford points, just edging out runners up Greg Moyle and Ray Cooper who combined very well for a 66 nett finish. Taking out the third place trophy, also on 66 nett was another pairing from Capel in Peter Waghorn and Jimmy Ayres. Bill Rybarczyk and Dale Edgeley, from Narrogin finished in fourth place, again with a 66 nett result. Other good scores on the day came from the pairings of Trevor Graham and Brad Swan, on 62 nett, Joe Italiano and Wayne Waywood, also on 62 nett, Colin Giblett and Geoff Lee, on 60, Alan Kent and visitor John Kennedy on 59, together with Warren and Patrick Hann, also on 59 nett.

A small field of ladies played a stableford event with Nancy Lynn winning with 35 points ahead of Vicki Graham, in second place, on 34 points.

Together with the usual Saturday novelties, the sponsors provided novelties on the remaining holes which added to the day's enjoyment. A sausage sizzle after the day's play provided by the Muja crew capped off a successful day's golf.

Last Tuesday's leisure day event, in a good field of 43 players, was won by veteran Alan Kent, with a score of 38 stableford points. Three players, each on 37 points were next best, separated by way of a countback. Runner up was Ken Tate, followed by Brett Smith and Fred Bronickis. Darren O'Brien, Trevor McCormick and Jim Hine each received a voucher for their respective returns of 36 stableford points.

Mick Finlay had the day's best vet score of 37 points.

Novelties were awarded to Neil Motion (4), Geoff Lee (7), Roger Hunter (9), Greg Moyle (14) and Ray Cooper (18).

Roger Hunter, Greg Bell and John Suckling played terrific golf in last Thursday's 9 hole scroungers competition with each player scoring an impressive 22 points. On a spin, Roger took out first place from Greg, second and John, third. Trevor Graham was one shot behind on 21 points with a further shot back to Danny Cheng on 20 points. Ed Riley, Mick Finlay, Ross Davidson and Phil Eldridge each rounded out the vouchers with a total of 19 points each. Seven players, each on 18 points were unlucky not to receive a voucher this week.

Steve Gianola (4), Rob Cavanagh (6) and Ray Alp (9) were the day's novelty winners while Danny Cheng's 36 off the stick proved the day's best gross score.

This Saturday's event will be an 18 hole stroke, sponsored by Greg and Clayton Bell. Nomination forms are available for the Summer Open on December 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

Congratulations to the new committee, formed under the new constitution. Office bearers are; President Regan Old, VP Graham Williams, Secretary Lesley Motion, Treasurer Michelle Tate and Captain Clayton Flynn.

Many thanks to the past committee members for their very worthy contributions over many years.

Scroungers today with leisure day next Tuesday.