Tate takes par event

Ken Tate won the 18-hole event by one shot over Ian Tweedie.
Ken Tate won the 18-hole event by one shot over Ian Tweedie.

Ken Tate was back in form, winning last Saturday’s 18-hole par event, sponsored by Peel Golf Centre. 

Returning the very good score of five up, Tate scored by one shot over evergreen country member, Ian Tweedie, who finished with four up. 

Ian Annandale was in good touch, returning a score of plus two, as was Tuesday’s winner, Mun Lye who also finished two up. 

Kim Metcalfe, Kalev Kutt, John Wray, Danny Clayton, Trevor Graham and Joe Italiano all finished one up, while vouchers were paid to Peter Coombs, Jan Van Vollenstee, William Hammond and Phil Warburton for finishing all square.

Special mention goes to visitor, Peter House who scored plus seven and received a voucher for his fine effort.

Nancy Lynn was the best of the lady golfers, scoring 35 points in their stableford competition.

Novelty winners on the day were:

Nearest the pins – Colin Giblett (No. 4 – Pine Hauliers award), Nancy Lynn (No. 4 – Dot Lawrence award), Peter House (No. 7 – Quadcaps award), Vicki Graham (No. 12 – Solstice award), Ron Annandale (No. 14 – Sportfirst award).

Longest first putts – John Michalak (No. 6 – Collie Salvage & Hardware), William Hammond (No. 9 – Metcalfe/Cavanagh award), Ian Annandale (No. 18 – Rivalry Group).

Long drive on No. 15 – Alex Tweedie (Solstice Group).

Enigmatic Ray Cooper was last Thursday’s scroungers competition winner, on a spin from runner-up Alby Hunter. 

Both players scored 20 points with Coop particularly looking forward to the challenge of playing to his new scroungers handicap.

Dave Farr, John Michalak and John Wray each scored 18 points while vouchers were paid down to 17 points this week with the recipients being Brad Swan, Phil Warburton and George Newlands.

Novelties were won by George Newlands (4), Tony Barker-May (6) and Fred Bronickis (9). 

John Wray won the best gross voucher for his score of 39 off the stick while Vicki Graham received a ball for her 17 point return as the best lady scrounger.

Tuesday’s leisure day was won in grand style by Mun Lye with his excellent score of 42 points. 

Lye was in great touch throughout the day and won the event by five shots from his nearest rivals. 

Runner-up, on a countback was Jay Robinson, on 37 points, as were Bruce Roberts and Graham Williams (best vet). 

Des Hebb and Ray Cooper each returned 36 points while Peter Coombs, Ash Hollins, George Newlands, Brad Swan and Steve Farquhar rounded out the vouchers for their respective scores of 35 points.

Novelty winners were John Wray (No.4 – Doug Crowe award), Chris Shea (No.7 – Colin Giblett award), Bruce Roberts (No.9), Kevin Ireland (No.14) and Alex Tweedie (No.18).

This week’s event will be an 18-hole stableford, sponsored by Bunbury Honda. 

Riverside nomination forms are now available for the event to be held on March 16, 17 and 18.

Scroungers was on Thursday and leisure day will be next Tuesday.