Bikes back on the track

The inaugural MCRC State Road Racing Championships is set to run at the Collie Motorplex track this weekend.

The wait is almost over, after nearly 18 months since racing ceased at Barbagallo Raceway in November 2016, following the tragic death of Chris Adley at the 2016 Kings of Wanneroo meeting and the handing down of the Hall Report.

Fast forward to April 2018 and we are about to embark on a new era with a full blown State Championship run on the Collie circuit. 

It is a two-day event with tuning on Saturday, along with a Ridedays WA Level 2 coaching course, and my spies tell me there are a few spots left for the day, so if you are interested today is the chance to book a place; you won’t be disappointed.

It’s an opportunity to get out on a racetrack and see what it’s like from a racers perspective.

The MCRCWA number is 9409 1002.

Sunday will see a full day of racing with track activities starting at 9am.

The following classes will be on track with some seriously fast racers like Ben Stronach, Cameron Stronach, Leigh Boujos, Tim Boujos, Terry Teo, Josh Mathers, Tom Hatton and Tommy King, along with the three-wheel warriors like Murray Stronach/Steve Marshall, Des Harvey/Ian Menmuir and young guns Graeme Evans/Jarrod Scott in action.

A number of classes will feature on the day. 

Things kick off with the B-grade series race, followed by the entry level Production class for 250 to 390cc, Sidecars, then the might of the Superbikes (1000cc) and Supersport (600cc), followed by the two-stroke class of 125GP’s and the Clubman 600 to 1000cc Novice to C-grade riders.  

Many of the State’s road racers haven’t ridden since the closure of Barbagallo, but many have ventured down to Collie on more than one occasion. 

In the Clubman Series there are several seasoned racers who haven’t ridden competitively since 2016, while the class has seven novices who have been riding at Collie; one of them, Gavin Harvey, made his debut last weekend in the historic Thunderbike Class and came away with two wins from three starts.

So, get yourselves trackside for an action filled day of racing from some of the best in the State.