Vernon crowned Eagles’ fairest and best

Teke Vernon was crowned the Collie Eagles’ league fairest and best when the club held its senior presentation last weekend.

Players, coaches and volunteers dressed up for the occasion as the club celebrated the end of the 2018 season on Saturday, September 1.

As part of the night, the club recognised the on-field achievements of its players with fairest and best awards.

Vernon was recognised for his great season in the Eagles’ midfield, named the winner of the league’s Earl-Coverley Medal, ahead of defender Mat Michael.

Phil Rabjones received the Golding Medal for the reserves’ fairest and best while James Abbott was recognised for his fine season with the Clayton Davidson Memorial Medal for the colts’ fairest and best.

Rachel Shepherd and Tahlia Dawson-Gibbs were also named joint winners of the inaugural Miller-Nelson Medal for the women’s team’s fairest and best player.

Mick Roney was named clubperson of the year, while Kolbee Fleay was awarded the Stephen Michael Rising Star award.

Each team’s leading goal kicker was also recognised, with Sam Salmeri (colts – 18 goals), Brandon Broomhead (reserves – 13 goals), Brooklyn Nelson (women’s – eight goals) and Blair Malatesta (league – 31 goals) all receiving awards.

To cap off the night, the club also awarded life membership to reserves coach Paul Moyses and Pete Rose.

Fairest and best top five


1. Teke Vernon;

2. Mat Michael;

3. Paul Rinder;

4. Talan Michael;

5. Matt Blackford.


1. Rachel Shepherd and Tahlia Dawson-Gibbs (tie);

3. Chantelle Fontana;

4. Brooklyn Nelson;

5. Rinay Swallow.


1. Phil Rabjones;

2. Ijah Coyle;

3. Brett Loxton;

4. Mason Scally;

5. Aaron Sheppard. 


1. James Abbott;

2. Jack Davidson;

3. Kaleb Michalak;

4. Fraser Hislop;

5. Sam Salmeri.