Crowe and Smallwood take out Summer Open title

Winners are grinners: Trophy winners and sponsors from the Collie Golf Club's Summer Open event. Jeff Crowe and Dion Smallwood took out the men's and women's titles. Photo: Ashley Bolt.
Winners are grinners: Trophy winners and sponsors from the Collie Golf Club's Summer Open event. Jeff Crowe and Dion Smallwood took out the men's and women's titles. Photo: Ashley Bolt.

VETERAN Jeff Crowe outlasted his younger challengers to record a one stroke win in last weekend’s 36-hole Summer Open at Collie Golf Club.

His two-round total of 75 just eclipsed the consistent Denis Cocker by a single shot in a one, two local finish.

A field of 158 golfers contested the event which was sponsored by the Collie River Valley Medical Centre and the Collie Mail.

Busselton club member Les Marsden, who has played a lot of golf in Collie, made good use of his knowledge of the layout to finish third, just behind the leading duo, on 73.

Crowe set up his win on Saturday with the day’s best score of 40, which he shared with fellow local player Danny Cheng. 

David Laird was also in the mix, a stroke back on 39.

However, Crowe outlasted his younger challengers on Sunday when he posted a very respectable 35 to take victory.

Cocker’s rounds of 37 – 37 showed just how well he played from tee to green over the two days.

Sunday’s 18-hole nett winner was Matt Harker who finished one shot ahead of event sponsor Peter Wutchak on 39 and 38 respectively.

Better nett scores:

36 holes: Jeff Crowe (Collie) 40-35-75; Denis Cocker (Collie) 37-37-74; Les Marsden (Busselton) 35-38-73.  

Saturday, 18 holes: Danny Cheng (Collie) 40, David Laird (Collie) 39.

Sunday, 18 holes: Matt Harker (Collie) 39; Peter Wutchak (Collie) 38.

Quality golf was on display in the gross section with former local junior Michael Golinski shooting a one over 73 on Saturday and a two over 74 on Sunday to take the honours.

Golinski, who now plays his golf at Lake Karrinyup, finished with 69 points to be one better than Manjimup’s Evan Sewell who had two over rounds of 74 on both Saturday and Sunday for 68 gross points.

Saturday’s gross winner, with a one under par round of 71, for 37 stableford points, was Capel’s Shaye Tresize, while Harvey’s Michael Lucas pared the course in scoring Sunday’s best gross of 36.

Better gross scores:

36 holes: Michael Golinski (Lake Karrinyup) 35-34-69; Evan Sewell (Manjimup) 34-34-68.

Saturday, 18 holes: Shaye Tresize (Capel) 37. 

Sunday, 18 holes: Michael Lucas (Harvey) 36.


THE ladies’ golf Summer Open was dominated by local players with Dion Smallwood and Michelle Tate fighting out the finish.

Both players finished on 69 nett, with Smallwood’s closing round of 36 being the separator.

The winner had rounds of 33 and 36, while Tate backed up her opening round of 35 with 34 on Sunday.

Saturday’s nett winner was Karin Thompson, of the Australia Golf Club, with 37 points, while Sunday’s round was won by Collie’s Donna Smith with 33.

Visitor Jo Jones, of Bunbury, outclassed the field with 50 points for the 36 holes gross event, finishing six better than Vicki Graham (Collie).

Deb Van Volenstee (Collie) was the gross winner on Saturday, with 22, while Tambellup’s Karen Miller had Sunday’s best score of 19.

Better scores:

36 holes nett: Dion Smallwood (Collie) 33-36-69; Michelle Tate (Collie) 35-34-69.

Saturday, 18 holes nett: Karin Thompson (Australia Golf Club) 37. 

Sunday, 18 holes nett: Donna Smith (Collie) 33.

36 holes gross: Jo Jones (Bunbury) 22-29-50; Vicki Graham (Collie) 23-21-44.

Saturday, 18 holes gross: Deb Van Volenstee (Collie) 22. 

Sunday, 18 holes gross: Karen Miller (Tambellup) 19.


FRIDAY’s 18-hole four-ball-best-ball stableford for the Bushwalkers trophies was again an excellent opener for the open weekend.

Ian Annandale coaxed young partner Connor Mumme around the course for an impressive 49 points, which proved far too good for the field. 

They were three shots better than the next best.

Steven Ireland, who had twice been a “bridesmaid” in this event, was partnered by Dean Rakich on this occasion and brought up the hat-trick, with 46.  

Ireland’s consistency is something to be envied as most in the field have yet to receive invitations to the reception let alone being in the bridal party three times!

A countback was required to determine third place trophy winners after three pairs had finished on 44. 

Finishing at the head of the countback were Joe Dixon and Trevor McKenzie. 

They edged out Ivan Dart and Peter Combs and Kevin Burton and Gordy Rigor.

Also prominent on the day were two of the “Bushwalkers”, Jeff Crowe and Peter Ellery, who posted the equal second-best score of the day, 46 points.

Better scores: 

Ian Annandale and Connor Mumme 49;

Steven Ireland and Dean Rakich 46;

Joe Dixon and Trevor McKenzie, Ivan Dart and Peter Coombs, Kevin Burton and Gordy Rigor 44;

Stephen Miller and Roger Hunter, T. Walton and P. Shaw, Doug Crowe and Brian Banks, Clayton Flynn and Denis Cocker, Greg Moyle and Bruce Miller, R. Edmonds and D. Power, P. Wearne and C. Lowson 43; 

Regan Old and Dave Blurton, W. Barnett and Terry Reeves, Jay Robinson and David Broadbent, Tony Barker-May and Jim Larsen 42.


THE ladies’ Friday opening day stableford was won in style by Donna Smith, with 41 points. 

Lynne Simmonds was also in fine form with 38, while Boyup Brook’s Jenny Aird was third on 37.


DARREN O’Brien beat Jamie Miller in a countback to determine the winner of last week’s Tuesday leisure day event.

The leading couple posted 39 points for the 18-hole stableford event to finish one better than Neil Motion and the day’s best veteran, Stephen Farquhar, on 38.

Others to do well in the field of 31 were John Wray and Denis Cocker on 37, Jim Larsen 36 and Alan Kent 35.

Novelty winners were Alan Kent and John Wray for nearest the pins on Nos 7 and 14 respectively, Darren O’Brien for nearest second on No. 4, and Trevor McCormick and Kevin Ireland for longest putts on Nos 9 and 18 respectively.


FIFTY-FOUR players contested last Thursday’s nine-hole scroungers event and leading them home with a fine score of 21 points was the in-form Brad Swan. 

Swan also posted the day’s best gross of 39 off-the-stick.

Sweet swinging Mickey Finlay was second on 20, while 19s were returned by Mick Jack, David Farr and Jim Larsen.

The quintet of Dave Henderson, Wayne Waywood, Kim Metcalfe, Frank Battista and Mick Pokrywka all finished on 18 to share in the distribution of vouchers.

John Wray (Nos. 1 and 4), Rodney Simmonds (6), Kevin Ireland (7) and Peter Ellery (9) won the novelties.

This week’s events: 

Thursday, nine-hole scroungers; 

Saturday, 18-hole stableford for the Spry’s Meats trophies; 

Tuesday, 18-hole leisure day stableford.