Lawrence prevails in three-way tie

TREVOR Lawrence prevailed in a three-way countback to win wife Dot Lawrence and Nancy Lynn’s 18-hole stableford event at Collie Golf Club last Saturday, December 29.

In a good holiday field of 50, big Trizzy edged out Wayne Waywood and Mun Lye who topped the results sheet on 39.

Collie Golf Club

In a good holiday field of 50, big Trizzy edged out Wayne Waywood and Mun Lye who topped the results sheet on 39.

Bruce Miller finished on 37 and the only other players in the field to play to their handicaps, with 36 points, were Jim Larsen, Trevor McCormick and club champ Chris Stewart.

Rewarded with vouchers for scores of 35 were Mick Pokrywka and Jamie Pitchers.

The season of goodwill was evident in the match office as vouchers also went to eight players on 34. They were Ray Cooper, Joe Italiano, Phil Warburton, Ray Alp, Fred Bronickis, Chris Mead and Jan Van Volenstee.

Donna Smith was the best of the 13 ladies who contested the event, scoring 34 points to be one better than Jann Mead, Vicki Graham, Lesley Motion and Dot Lawrence.

Novelty winners were Ron Annandale and Donna Smith (No. 4), Phil Warburton (6), Graham Williams (7), Mick Pokrywka (9), Tom Chappell (14 and 15) and Ian Shannon (18).

RON Annandale scored 20 points when winning Thursday, December 27’s nine-hole scroungers event. David Broadbent, John Michalak, Neil Motion and Peter Ellery were one back, on 19.

Playing to their handicaps, on 18, were Jay Robinson, Steve Gianola, Clive Pullan and Darren O’Brien. Keith Godfrey (No. 4), Ron Annandale (6) and Neil Motion (9) picked up the novelties.

THE Christmas Eve leisure day stableford was won in style by the in-form Denis Cocker with 41 points. He was way ahead of Peter Coombs 35, the day’s best vet, Phil Warburton, and Colin Giblett 34. Cocker won three of the five novelties – numbers nine, 14 and 18. Warburton (4) and Giblett (7) won the other novelties.

This week’s events: Today (Thursday, January 3), nine-hole scroungers; Saturday, January 5 is an 18-hole stroke for Clayton Flynn’s trophy; Tuesday, January 8, 18-hole leisure day stableford.

Peter Wutchak set the standard when posting 41 points in the Christmas stableford event at Collie Golf Club on Saturday, December 22.

The popular local doctor played in the morning and his fine score stood up to all comers who played in the afternoon, with Eric Annandale being the only player in the field of 50 to offer any real challenge, finishing three strokes back on 38 points.

Others to do well on the day were Wayne Waywood and Kalev Kutt, on 37, Mick Pokrywka 36, Jim Larsen, Brett Smith, Mun Lye, John Williamson 35, Neil Motion and Paul Moyses 34.

Wutchak, who went around in 78 off-the-stick, also claimed two novelties – nearest the pin on No. 4 and longest putt on No. 6. Other novelties were won by Debbie Van Volenstee (No. 4, ladies), Neil Motion (7), Phillip Warburton (9), Joe Italiano (14), Chris Shannon (15) and Doug Crowe (18).

The best of the nine ladies who braved the hot conditions was Rhonda Annandale who edged out Bev Moyses, on a countback, after both had finished on 36.

Veteran Frank Battista survived a three-way countback to beat the in-form Eric Annandale and Roger Hunter in Tuesday, December 18’s leisure day stableford. 

The leading trio had 41 points in the field of 40 and were two points clear of Doug Crowe, George Newlands and the day’s best vet, Mun Lye, on 39. Others to receive vouchers were Trevor McCormick and Bill Hammond, on 38, and Chris Channon and Denis Cocker, on 37. Roger Hunter won the novelty on No. 4, Jay Robinson was successful on No. 9, Mun Lye on No. 14 and Dean Rakich on No. 18.

JIM Larsen was the winner of last Thursday, December 20’s nine-hole scroungers event, finishing one point ahead of Bruce Miller, with 21 and 20 points respectively. 

Denis Cocker, Jim Moyses and Ian Annandale also received vouchers for their scores of 19, while just outside the allocation were eight players on 18. There were 48 players in the field. Graeme “Tiger” Jackson won the gross on a spin-of-the-wheel from Greg Bell after both had 39 off-the-stick.

Novelty winners were Ian Annandale (No. 1), John Michalak (4), Phil Warburton (6), Ross Davidson (7) and Graeme Jackson (9).