Mead wins first event of the new year

In a good field of 50 players, country member Chris Mead chalked up the first Saturday win for 2019 with a well constructed 69 nett.

Chris, a regular visitor to the club, shot 69 in the morning giving the afternoon players something to chase but no one could reel him in.

The 18-hole stroke event was sponsored by Clayton Flynn.

In second place on a countback was the evergreen Phil Warburton who nudged out David Laird with both players signing for a 72.

Reigning club champion Chris Stewart won the gross trophy with a hard-fought 79 off-the-stick.

Jim Moyses and Doug Crowe returned 73 followed by Fred Bronickis and Jan Vanvollenstee on 75 and Kim Metcalfe, Jay Robinson, Ron Annandale and Clayton Flynn all on 76.

Vicki Graham won the ladies with a well-played 72, just doing enough to relegate Dot Lawrence to second place by countback also on 72.

Novelties winners: No. 4 – Clayton Flynn and Jodie Allison, No. 6 – Jamie Pitchers, No. 7 – Doug Crowe, No. 9 – Darren O’Brien, No. 14 – Trevor Graham, No. 15 – Darren O’Brien, No. 18 – Alan Kent.

Leisure Day

On Tuesday, a brave turnout of 29 players took to the fairways after New Year’s Eve celebrations.

The win with 40 points went to Fred Bronickis. Peter Coombs edged out Jim Larsen both on 37.

Warby warmed up for Saturday’s event with 33 and Jeff Crowe was also rewarded with 33. The best vet on the day went to Wayne Waywood with 36 points.


Thursday Scroungers saw a tearaway winner with relative newcomer Troy Briggs showing his class with a massive 25 points.

Alan Banks played a solid round for 20 followed by Steve Gianola, John Wray, and Bruce Jackson all on 19.

Ray Cooper, John Michalak, Eric Annandale, Dave Farr, Hugh Annandale, Phil Warburton, and Jim Moyses were all rewarded for 18. Troy Briggs got the double by winning the gross as well with 38 off-the-stick.

Next week’s events:

Bluewaters totally mixed 4BBB; Tuesday – Leisure Day; Thursday – Scroungers; normal times.