Crowe soars for stableford

Doug Crowe was in flying form when he won last Saturday’s 18-hole stableford, sponsored by Bunbury Honda.

With his trusty putter in hot form, Crowe finished his round with a worthy 40 points, three shots better than his nearest rivals. In the runner-up position, on a countback, was Tony Barker-May on 37 points with Troy Briggs, also on 37, in third place. 

Next, on 36 points apiece were Brett Smith and Graham Williams, followed by Jan Van Vollenstee, Dave Blurton, Peter Coombs, Kim Metcalfe and Bruce Roberts, each on 35. 

Rounding out the vouchers, each with 34 were Kyle Hulls, Steve Gianola, Ian Annandale, Warren Hann and Danny Cheng. Jann Mead was the winner of the ladies stableford with 37 points.

In second place, on 36 was Nancy Lynn, followed by Cara Swan in third place, on 35 points. 

Novelty winners: Nearest the pins – Graham Williams (4), Debbie Van Vollenstee (4), Rob Cavanagh (7), Nancy Lynn (12) and Jan Van Vollenstee (14) (so close to a hole-in-one); Longest first putts – Tony Barker-May (6), Colin Naysmith (9) and Doug Crowe (18); Long drive on No.15 – Warren Hann.

SCROUNGERS: Brett Smith and Jim Larsen each returned 19 points to finish first and second in last Thursday’s nine-hole scroungers competition. One shot behind the leaders, each on 18 were Danny Cheng and Frank Battista. 

On a relatively low scoring day, vouchers were paid down to 17 points. The recipients were David Laird, David Blurton, Roger Hunter and Doug Crowe. 

Novelty winners: Steven Ireland (4), Jim Larsen (6) and Danny Cheng (9). Danny Cheng was also the day’s best gross score.

LEISURE DAY: John Wray played an excellent round of golf in last Tuesday’s 18-hole leisure day stableford. His consistent, all round game earned him 40 points, two better than runner-up, Wayne Waywood, on 38. Narrogin’s Jim Lee was third, on 37.

Joel Simmonds, Ray Cooper, Paul Moyses, Tom Hardie and Bruce Miller each received a voucher for their return of 35 points. 

Neil Motion won the best vet award for his return score of 36. Novelties went to Paul Moyses (4), Greg Bell (7), Joel Simmonds (9), Terry Reeves (14) and John Michalak (18).

Saturday’s event is an 18-hole stableford sponsored by the Solstice Group. Riverside nominations available at the club or website.