Ron Annandale steaks field

A field of 50 competed for the Dave Blurton Trophy in great weather conditions and on a well-presented course.

The very consistent Ron Annandale took full advantage of the playing conditions returning +5 to be a big winner.

Ron hardly put a foot wrong all day unlike most others and was a deserved winner.

Runner-up went to Ed Riley who was club house leader for most of the day with +3 then followed regular country member Chris Mead on +2 to clinch third place.

Bruce Jackson, Clayton Flynn and Michael Pokryka all returned +1 and Tom Chappell, Kyle Hulls, Peter Ellery and Jim Moyses received vouchers for returning square. 

The ladies had a small field and Debbie VanVollenstee did enough to win with -1 to claim the victory.

Novelties winners: 

  • No. 4 Trevor McCormick and Deb VanVollenstee; 
  • No. 6 Jim Larsen;
  • No. 7 George Old; 
  • No. 9 Hugh Annandale;
  • No. 14 Alan Kent;
  • No. 15 Corey Old;
  • No. 18 Alan Kent.

Tuesday Leisure Day

On Tuesday 33 players contested the club sponsored Leisure Day event.

Joe Italiano played a nice round to score 39 points and hold his rivals at bay.

Fred Bronickis held onto second place edging Bruce Miller to third by countback with both players having 37.

Alan Kent and Tom Hardie both had 34 followed by Jim Larsen, Mun Lye and Ash Seeber all on 33.

The best vet on the day went to Jim Moyses with 34 points.

Thursday Scroungers

A good field of 51 played Thursday scroungers.

The head scrounger himself Ed Riley did just enough to win by the barest of margins returning 19.

Ed Held off a large contingent all on 18, including John Williamson, Joe Italiano, Ron Annandale, John Wray, Paul Moyses, Jay Robinson and Ian Annandale.

Not to be left out Ross Davidson was rewarded for his 17. 

Next week: 

  • 18-hole stableford Freo Crane Group; 
  • Tuesday, leisure day;
  • Thursday scroungers.