Stewart and Blurton lead at club championships’ halfway point

Photo: supplied.
Photo: supplied.

Chris Stewart and Dave Blurton lead the way at the halfway mark of the club championships.

In the gross, Stewart had rounds of 77 and 81 for a 158 total, followed by Danny Cheng with 82 and 83 for 164, Dave Blurton with 79 and 85 for 164, Warren Hann with 82 and 83 for 165, then Colin Giblett with 83 and 83 for 166.

In the nett section, Dave Blurton had rounds of 71 and 77 for a nett total of 148, followed by Warren Hann with 74 and 76 for 150 then Danny Cheng with 76 and 75 for a 151 nett total.

Sportfirst sponsored the first round of the championships on Saturday, providing trophies for the winner and runner-up in both the gross and nett sections.

Dave Blurton won the nett with a score of 71, followed by Brett Smith in the runner-up position with 73.

Next in was Warren Hann, on 74 nett, followed by Clayton Flynn, Phil Warburton and Graham Williams on 75 nett, then Brad Swan, Danny Cheng and Colin Giblett, each on 76 nett.

Chris Stewart won the gross trophy for his score of 77 off-the-stick with Warren Hann taking the runner-up trophy on a countback from Danny Cheng, both players returning a gross score of 82.

Novelties: Nearest the pins – Chris Stewart (4), Regan Old (7), Graham Williams (14); Longest first putts – Brett Smith (6), Mun Lye (9), Bruce Miller (18); Long drive (15) – Chris Stewart.

The second round of the club championships was held last Sunday and resulted in a win for Danny Cheng with a nett result of 75.

Runner-up on 76 nett was Colin Giblett on a countback from Trevor McCormick, Warren Hann and Ed Riley, all on nett 76.

Last Thursday’s nine-hole scroungers competition resulted in a win to Ian Shannon, eclipsing Ed Riley on a countback.

Both players returned the good score of 20 stableford points, one shot better than Peter Coombes, in third place on 19 points.

David Laird and Allan Banks each scored 18, while Ron Annandale received a voucher for his return of 17 points.

Novelties went to Allan Banks (4), Ed Riley (6) and John Michalak (9).

Kevin Ireland continued his good form from the previous Saturday by winning last Tuesday’s leisure day competition.

Ireland scored 37 stableford points to be a comfortable winner from runner up, Jim Moyses on 33 points. Mun Lye, Trevor McCormick and Ray Cooper each received a voucher for their respective scores of 32 points.

Doug Crowe won the best vet award with his score of 33 points.

Novelty winners were Steven Ireland (4), Trevor McCormick (7), Kim Metcalfe (9) and Ray Cooper (14).

The third and fourth rounds of the club championships will be contested this weekend, with Saturday’s event being sponsored by Denis Cocker and Geoff Lee.

Nine-hole scroungers is on Thursday with leisure day next Tuesday.